When “Life” Happens

Posted: February 5, 2009 in family stuff

You are strolling along, enjoying the day, feeling like things are finally going your way.  You finally have a grasp on the everyday happenings and you are getting caught up on the responsibilities of motherhood.  You start to feel a little secure in where you are and what you are doing.  Then, out of the blue, BAM, it hits you……..LIFE!

This could be my storyline for the past few weeks.  We had been living in a townhome, when suddenly there were several safety issues that came up(I will spare you the details) that made it impossible for us to stay there even another night.  So, in a matter of 8 hours, we rented a truck and boxed up everything we owned(threw it into a box would be more accurate) and moved about 12 miles to the other side of town.  Fortunately, we had already begun to look at houses and had found one that was available on the spur of the moment.  It has taken about a week to locate everything that was hap-hazardly thrown into boxes without any resemblance of organization.  For those of you who know me, you can know that this was physically painful for me to have to pack and unpack in this way.  I literally cannot function in chaos and there were moments when I wasn’t sure I was going to see the light of day again 😦 . But, being the trooper that I am 😉  I made it through.

Well, that was a couple of weeks ago, and now we are settled into our new home and loving every minute of it.  The quietness and serenity alone is enough to make me thank God everyday.

Fortunately, all of that happened and was over with before the next wave of “life” hit.  Beginning a life in a new state has allowed us the luxury of not being too involved in outside activities and really having plenty of free time to ourselves to get settled into a new way of life.  That was then, this is now.

We started playing Upward Basketball at our new church, which is great by the way, and now we have practice and games 2 days a week.  Also, my DH who was the coach, got a new job which eliminates him from being involved in Upward, so I am now the coach.  My DH and I are taking Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace class on Sunday nights now, and I am involved in a ladies Bible Study on Wednesdays.  The mom’s night out for the Homeschool group at church meets on Tuesdays and has playdays on Fridays and we are trying to get involved in these.  To complicate matters even more, most of these activities are centered around our new church which is approximately 25 miles from our new home. 

So, are you starting to get the picture…..We could be at church or church related activites on Sunday mornings, Sunday nights, Tuesdays(once a month), Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays.  We won’t even mention trying to homeschool, get my daughter college applications completed, arranging all the activities that go along with my girls being involved in the church youth group, etc…  Yes, that is what I mean when I say “Life Happens”. 

We have gone from pretty much being hermits, to having very few days where there isn’t some sort of activity going on.

I have learned, though, that I like being busy.  I like having my life full and enriched with so many different people and activities.  I’m sure that I will feel some relief when some of the commitments are completed and we get back to having time to breathe, but for now we will make the most of it and try to make sure that we are giving it our best and feeling thankful that we have finally found a place to fit in…a place to belong……”Home”.

Leave a Reply

