God knew….

Posted: February 16, 2009 in homeschooling, other blog links
Tags: ,

My oldest daughter will finish her homeschool journey this year.  It pains me to write that, but at the same time it thrills me to know I only have to homeschool two kids next year! (Does that sound bad?!?)  Anyway, there have been moments lately when I have gone through the whole circle of emotions.  From relief to regret, from elation to sorrow, and mostly from courage to fear. 

Unlike a lot of people with high school age kids, we have never gone the way of umbrella schools or accreditation and now that we are looking at applying to college, I am starting to second guess those decisions.  I have always shrieked away from those ideas mostly because I felt that it was bad for the whole homeschool movement.  I wanted to support homeschoolers of ‘ole and show respect for all that they went through to give me the freedoms that I enjoy today, being able to choose what I feel is the best source of education for my children.  I believe HSLDA and other homeschool leaders when they say that we need to stand firm in our convictions and not allow the state any more entrance into our homeschool than is absolutely required by law.

There was a time, a few weeks ago, when I was questioning my decisions so much that I wasn’t sure I could continue.  I felt compelled to just write out my heart’s longings and seek counsel and encouragement from someone.  For some inexplicable reason, I chose my blog-friend Barb.  We have never met and have only communicated through the web, but I just knew that she would have what I needed.  And, to my great relief, I was correct.  She listened and encouraged, without judgement, and steered me back onto the right path.  Thank you Barb, for that.  So many times, those in places of leadership or those who have homeschooled for a long time, try to intimidate us and make us look up to them and put them on pedestals.  When all we really need is transparency.  We need to know that they feel our pain and have been there themselves.  It is rare now days to find that type of encourager and mentor.  I’m glad God put this particular one in my life, or should I say on my blog or web.  He knew what I would need to hear and had someone waiting…..”For such a time as this”.

Comments
  1. We didn’t go the accreditation route either. This year has definitely been a learning experience. 🙂

Leave a Reply

