And I almost missed it.

Posted: February 24, 2009 in musings

I walked outside the other night to take the dog “out”.  I was not really paying attention to anything around me.  I just wanted her to hurry up so I could get back inside.  I casually looked up and to my great surprise, I saw one of the most beautiful star-filled skies.  I just stood there for a few minutes staring at the enormous sparkling blanket above me.  The first thought I had was, “I almost missed this breath-taking sight”.

I was aimlessly taking the dog out, most definitely not “in the moment” and with my mind on all the other things that I needed to hurry up and get to, and almost missed a “moment that took my breath away”.

I wonder how many times I go through my day with blinders on.  Not seeing or absorbing the things around me.  Was my child trying to tell me something and I just shrugged her off because I was too busy?  Or did I miss a moment when she really needed to talk and I didn’t seem available?  In the midst of her trying to share an important event with me, did I just halfway hear, occasionally saying, “Um”, so she would think I was listening? 

What have I missed in life because I was too busy or preoccupied with what I needed to do next?  I don’t want to miss a thing in this life, because I was too busy planning for what might happen next.  I want to live in the moment so I don’t miss the “Moments that take my breath away”.

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.”

Leave a Reply

