So close, yet so far

Posted: February 27, 2009 in encouragement, musings

We now live what most would say is off the “beaten path”.   At the end of our street is pastures filled with cows, a pretty big pond, actually several ponds, and a lot of undeveloped land.  On our way to church, we travel on roads that sometimes we don’t even see another car for miles.  We often see large amounts of wildlife;  armadillos, giant hogs, deer, hawks, alligators, all sorts of strange birds, etc.  The odd thing is, we are only a few miles from the main gates at Disney World. 

We live so close to the #1 tourist attraction in the world, but yet we are still very secluded in our surroundings and away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist life.

I was thinking about that on the way home today as I was admiring all the beautiful scenery around me.  If I didn’t know that Disney was just over the way, I would never guess that I was anywhere in the vicinity.

I wonder if I do that with God and all that He has to offer me.  Because I am His child, and have been for 35 years, I have so much “at my disposal”, but I fear I never take full advantage of it.  I think I go through my life getting burdened down by so many issues and so much baggage that God never intended me to be overcome with.  The God of the universe, the God who merely breathed the heavens into existence is my Father and is readily available to me at any moment. 

How much have I missed by only looking at the small picture?  Why do I not see how close I am to the power of the Almighty God and what He can do through me?  It is by choice that I live in this mundane state.  

John 10:10 says, “My purpose is to give life in all its fullness.

Ephesians 3:20:  “He is able to accomplish infinitely more than we would ever dare to ask or hope.”

Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

2Chronicles 25:9, “The Lord can give you much more than that.”

1Corinthians 2:9, “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love Him.”

Isaiah 48:18, “Oh, that you had listened to my commands!  Then you would have had peace flowing like a gentle river and righteousness rolling like waves.”

All these verses tell me that God wants so much more for us.  If we could just realize how close we really are to all His “amenities” and learn to take advantage of all that is within our reach.

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Comments
  1. Meg says:

    You need that steven curtis chapman song on here

    I’m playin game boy standin in the middle of the grand canyon

    I’m eatin candy sittin at a gormay feast.

    i wadin in a puddle when i could be swimmin in the ocean

    Wake up and see the glory.

  2. Amy Clarke says:

    You should be a preacher. Preach it, sister! 🙂

Leave a Reply

