Call the Fashion Police

Posted: March 6, 2009 in it's all about me, randomness
Tags: , ,

Don’t you just hate those people who always look like they just stepped out of a fashion magazine.  I have a few of those people in my life. I take one look at them and I suddenly feel the urge to go and change clothes, comb my hair, put on more makeup and buy some matching jewelry.  But then I quickly remind myself that even if I did those things, I would probably look more like a clown than a fashion model.

I have never had a sense of fashion.  I don’t really know why, but it is just not there.  I don’t enjoy shopping, I don’t really like jewelry.  I do not “have an eye” for what looks good or how to put things together.  You have seen those shows where they show a before and after, well I am the before.  I have a few shorts and shirts that I really like and I basically wear them over and over.  Most of my “fashionable” outfits my husband has bought. He likes shopping and I don’t, so that alone is a strange thing, isn’t it?!?  He has much better taste than I do anyway.  I think he often cheats and finds the same outfits that the mannequins are wearing, but hey, whatever works and as long as I don’t have to go shopping I’m happy.

I am just thankful for all the verses in the Bible that talk about the inside being more important than the outside.  Not that my inside is always “pretty”, but I find it to be more easily maintained than the outside anyway.  There isn’t a lot I can do with the outside, but God is always working on the inside.  Maybe He could help with the outside too ……. probably not.  Oh well, I guess I can be one of those people who is described as “having a really good personality” 😉 .

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Comments
  1. Bonita says:

    When I was in high school I worked in a discount women’s clothing store and could easily have been voted “best dressed”. Then I went to nursing school and was broke. Fashion plate days were over. I graduated, had money, and was somewhat fashionable again. Then I got married and had kids and had no more time to shop and stand in front of a mirror or care. I actually enjoy shopping, but I’m lost these days with the new styles. Too many layers and I can’t tell what goes together and what doesn’t. Plus, I have way too many other things to do to spend all that time on fashion. Maybe I will again in the future. Maybe not.

Leave a Reply

