my cup runneth over

Posted: March 9, 2009 in encouragement

I don’t know about you, but I grow weary of people who always want to be the “victim”.  You know what I mean?  The “woe is me” type of person.  I have come to realize that people like that, the ones who think that their life if so terrible, will probably never break out of it as long as they keep that type of mentality.  You are what you perceive yourself to be.

I like to see things from a positive perspective.  You know, what are the good things in my life?  You may be thinking that some type of big, dramatic blessing has come my way to prompt this excessively positive outlook, but that is not the case.  I AM blessed, yes, you are right, but not in a huge dramatic way.  In my day to day life God has poured out blessings too numerous for me to express.   How dare I ever feel like a “victim”.

  • I have a wonderful, faithful husband who diligently goes off to work everyday
  • I have three healthy daughters who think that I am just the greatest Mom in the world
  • I have a place to live and food in my pantry
  • We have money to pay the bills, at least for this month anyway
  • I put on shorts this morning that usually fit, and they were too big 😉
  • I have a few “real friends” that I know I could turn to in any situation and they would be there for me

Now as I look back over the above mentioned things, I realize that even if all those disappeared, my greatest blessing still remains.  The reality of what my future holds is this:  My Father is the creator of the universe and one day I will spend eternity with Him.  Apart from that, nothing else really matters.

My cup runneth over!

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    I got an Ipod Touch a few weeks ago (which I LOVE). I usually play around with it each night, checking my favorite websites. I have added your blog to my bookmarks. I have enjoyed reading your blogs. Thanks for sharing. I hope “real” includes myself 🙂 Forgive grammar & spelling errors, this keyboard is tiny.

  2. brumbemom says:

    Of course! You know you are at the top of the list. Thanks for the kind words. Miss Ya 😦

  3. Bonita says:

    I have little patience with the victim mentality either, although at certain times in my life I’ve probably played the victim too. The other thing I don’t care for is helping people who refuse to be helped because they relish that victim role.

    Sounds like you have much to be thankful for! Me too!

Leave a Reply

