walk the line

Posted: May 1, 2009 in musings

This thought recently occurred to me when I was watching a show and the scene that was developing in front of my eyes was totally repulsive.  I felt a painful stabbing in my gut and I turned the channel and said to myself, “They have crossed the line, and I’m not watching this show ever again.”  Truth is, I had been watching this particular show for quite sometime, and it had many things that were not pleasing to God in the script.  But it took this one act of disgust to finally open my eyes. 

That episode gave me great reason to ponder.  Why do we, as Christians, try to live as close to the “line” as possible.  We somehow rationalize in our minds that we will accept this, but not that.  We will allow a certain word, but not other words.  We will watch immorality between different genders, but the moment they show homosexuality, then we stand up and say, “Absolutely not”.  Isn’t it all sin?  Is any of it pleasing to God? 

 I’m not just talking about watching TV or movies, I am thinking about our everyday lives and the things that we allow.  Do we make our decisions based on just how much we can get away with without actually committing sin, or do we make our decisions based on how close can we walk to God and still be in this earthly body?  In the things we wear, the places we go, the things we do, the words we say, the way we treat people, the time we spend with God. 

I’m not trying to be legalistic, I am just wondering why we want to see just how far we can go, without actually crossing the line.  When we are walking the line, isn’t it much easier to cross it?  To the contrary, when we stay as far from the line as we can, the danger of crossing it diminishes a great deal.  I think we all know, if we have to sit and ask ourselves if something is pleasing to God, then we already have our answer, don’t we?!?

This seems a bit of a ramble, but I hope you can get the gist of what I am saying.  I am guilty of it on a daily basis.  I don’t like it, but I do it. I want to start making a conscience effort to stay as far from the line as possible.  If the line is on one side and God is on the other, moving further from the line takes me closer to Him, and isn’t that what we all want?!?

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Comments
  1. Jill says:

    Excellent points to ponder, Michele. When we consider what we would call objectionable today, and compare it to what would have been objectionable 40 years ago, we can see just how far our ‘line’ has moved. And yet ‘Jesus Christ, the same yesterday, today and forever’.

    Great post.

Leave a Reply

