New Chapter

Posted: May 25, 2009 in family stuff, homeschooling

Well, it seems odd to say that a chapter has closed, so I will say that a new chapter has opened.  We graduated our first homeschool graduate yesterday.  It was a very surreal time for me.  I spent most of the weekend at the home school curriculum fair and for the first time, I was looking for materials for only 2 children.  It was, in a way, a little sad, but also very exciting.  I can appreciate all of our hard work and know that we have done what God called us to do.  Now, it is my daughter’s turn to start making her own path and deciding what God has for her from here on out(not that she has not been doing that for quite some time, but I guess it just seems a bit more official now).

I do feel quite a sense of accomplishment and I know that it is only through God’s grace and His strength that we were able to stand there yesterday and see our sweet baby walk across the stage and receive her diploma.  We participated in our state’s local graduation ceremony that had 234 graduates.  It was a wonderful feeling knowing that there are that many families, just in our area, that feel the call and conviction to home-educate their children.  It truly was a remarkable day celebrating many successes.

Thank you God for the opportunities that you have given our family, and thank you that we saw the need and had the courage to step out in faith over 10 years ago, and make the life changing decision to home-educated our most precious gifts.  It has been and will continue to be one of the most challenging yet rewarding callings that one can have.

Picture or Video 069Picture or Video 074

Picture or Video 091

Comments
  1. joycomesinthemorning says:

    I just found your blog. Today is the first time I have come up to my computer. I can hardly see these words for the tears falling. My precious granddaughter looks so beautiful and grown up in her cap and gown. I know for sure now that nothing will be the same. At the same time there is such anticipation for seeing what God has for her. She is special. She is smart. She will search for God’s will. I am confident of that. What an accomplishment. You for all the wisdom you used, and her as she worked so hard for all those good grades. I commend you!!!

    Send pictures.
    JOY

  2. A lovely post….I can relate to it, as we’re about to graduate our dd18. Congratulations to your daughter….and you!

Leave a Reply

