Don’t answer MY prayers

Posted: July 7, 2009 in Uncategorized

I was reading in my devotion this morning about unanswered prayer, and something struck me.  We are so weak and so misguided that most of the time we are simply shooting in the dark when it comes to asking God for things.  Quoting C.S. Lewis, “If we consider…..the staggering nature of the rewards promised in the gospels, it would seem that our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak.  We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at sea.  We are far too easily pleased.”

We have such limited perspective when it comes to knowing what to ask God for.  I think we fail to realize just who we are talking to;  the creator of the universe, the one who simply spoke and all things existed……..WOW!  and I want to ask Him to help me pay my bills, to help me not be anxious, to protect me and my family, to help us find the right house, to give my husband a better job, to help my children do well with their studies, to keep sickness away from my family, etc…..  When all He has is at my disposal…..He is GOD!  and He wants to give me fullness of life, a FULL life.   “I have come that you might have life and have it more abundantly.”

He can give me all the money in the world not just enough to pay my bills, He can give me everlasting peace not just remove anxiety, My family will spend eternity in the presence of Jesus even if they leave this world, He has built a mansion for me in Heaven where I will live forever, our only job that matters is to make an impact for God, the only knowledge that means anything is the knowledge that God is everything we need, if sickness comes we have the assurance that He is there and all things work for our good,  etc…..What are we really praying for?  Anything that really matters? 

Of course, He wants to hear our longings and He wants to supply our needs and He wants us to turn to Him even in the seemingly small things of life.  But the point is, we are so finite, our minds are so finite that we can’t even imagine what He wants to give His children.  I dare say it is far more than anything we could even dream about asking Him for.

I wish I had the faith to pray, “Hello Father…..Whatever.”   Now that’s a prayer He can work with!

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Comments
  1. joy comes says:

    This is really getting to where life begins to have meaning. What father would give his son a stone if he is asking for a piece of bread? Not our Father in heaven!!

  2. Renae says:

    Thank you. I really needed this…I’ll be back to read it again. Very good words for me right now and yeah, I guess for always.

Leave a Reply

