the hens on my new roost

Posted: August 14, 2009 in Uncategorized

I truly hope that none of my CF friends read this blog, because they might not appreciate being referred to as “hens”.  Well, I thought it was a catchy title, so I am going with it 😉 .

I have been blessed with some of the most amazing friends.  We have been through so much together and I love them dearly.  But, since moving to a new state last fall, more than 500 miles away from anyone I knew, I have had to either make new friends or remain in solitude.  Making friends is not easy for me.  I tend to be perceived as a bit of an introvert.  I’m really not, I just prefer to be the listener instead of the talker.  I enjoy listening to other people’s stories and conversations.  It is not easy for me to share and I often say things that I later regret.  I have become somewhat socially inept.  But despite all those inadequacies, I have made some wonderful new friends in our new locale.

I really believe all those things about choosing your friends wisely, and surround yourself with people who build you up and make you want to be a better person.  I think it is quite foolish to be always drawn to people who make you feel good about yourself because they have so many problems and they make you “look good”.  Of course, I am not saying that we should not reach out to those in need, but I want my inner circle to be made up of people who have something that I can draw from and who challenge me to grow and become more of what God wants me to be along with friends who I can offer that to as well.

I am fortunate to have found those gems here in Central Florida.  Wow, that is a big switch, I went from calling them “hens” to “gems”.  Maybe that will redeem me just in case one of them actually does read this 😉 .

From my friend that I lovingly refer to as my “bff”(best Florida Friend) that I really don’t have all that much in common with, but we just seem to be simpatico and have grown together in a short time; my friend who is very accomplished in the world of academia, but is still so humble, down to earth and has a gift for making others feel important; the one who is so animated and charismatic that you just watch and experience more than anything and feel joyful because of it; my friend who is very deep in the things of God and loves to share with a “lighted spirit” that cannot be quenched;  my meek and quiet friend who seems to have a great deal of care and concern to offer and whose kids have added great joy in the lives of 2 of my children;  my friend who likes to say it like it is and has such an aura of “what you see is what you get” that is refreshes me each time we come in contact;  my friend who I can’t imagine hearing a harsh word or negative comment ever come out of her mouth. 

There are many more that I could describe, but these are just a few of the incredible women that I have been blessed with here on my new roost in Central Florida.

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Comments
  1. Joy says:

    So glad you didn’t name names, I can choose which hen description suits my fancy! hmmm….. something told me to read up on your blog today! You have such a gift with the written word, I feel enept to express myself, but can say with confidence that I a super happy that God led us together. I am thankful your friendship and inspired by your faith. I love ya friend. cluck, cluck.

Leave a Reply

