the call we all hate to answer

Posted: September 8, 2009 in Uncategorized

I am sure that you are like me in the fact that I hate to get a telemarketing call.  I don’t like it when the phone rings, period, but when I answer it and it is someone soliciting something, I must admit, I am not usually very friendly, to say the least 😦 .

I wrote, in a previous blog, about starting back to work.  Well, long story short, that working situation caused a lot of conflicts in our schedule, so I ended up only doing it about a month.  I have just recently started another work from home position.  This one is, for all intents and purposes, a telemarketing thing.  I only call businesses, not personal homes, but it is still the same general principal.  I have about 3 or 4 questions that I ask them to gather information for an outside source.  As with most cases of telemarketing, I can tell that most of these callers aren’t thrilled in having to talk to me and just want to do whatever it takes to get me off the phone.  Since it is businesses and not personal homes, they rarely just hang up, but most are not very friendly.

I have noticed that when I do get someone who is friendly and readily answers each question with a polite tone, that it changes my entire spirit.  I immediately feel an uplifting and I in turn start talking more polite and with a lightness that I didn’t previously have.

It is sobering to think of the power that the “tongue” has.  It can truly make or ruin a day.  I think we seldom stop to think about our words or even more importantly how we say them.  They have the power to tear down and the ability to build up.  I think a good place to start would be to have fewer of them, but that concept seems to elude a lot of people.  So may we choose our words carefully and realize that although they may seem insignificant to us, they are powerful and may very well determine someone else’s day.

Leave a Reply

