“I know you can do better than that”

Posted: January 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

In my Bible study class on Sunday mornings, we have been studying the book of Mark.  Yesterday part of our discussion was in chapter 8 verses 22–25.  This is the story of a blind man coming to Jesus for healing.  The Bible says that Jesus spit on the man’s eyes and put His hands on him, then Jesus asked, “Do you see anything?”   The man said, “I see people;  they look like trees walking around.”  Then Jesus put His hands on the man’ s eyes again and they were opened and his sight was restored.

Our Bible study leader asked for our thoughts on this episode in Jesus’ life.  Why was the man not completely healed the first time?  We knew it was not because Jesus’ healing just did not “take” the first time and He had to do it again.  There were many thoughts shared as to what the implications are in these verses.  Most agreed that the man’s Faith increased after the partial healing and then he was able to be healed completely. I was pondering a different thought, but chose not to share it.

I have gotten confused now as to whether or not the pounding in my chest and the shortness of breath that I feel, each time I think of something I would like to share, is God nudging me to verbalize my musings or if it is simply extreme anxiety at the idea of having to speak in front of a large group of adults.   I’m not really sure at this point, but for now I choose to share my thoughts with you, by blogging world.

Upon hearing this story for the first time (I’m sure that I have actually heard it before, but I just didn’t allow it to make an impact) my mind starting racing.  Why didn’t Jesus’ healing work on the first go around?  Was it lack of faith on the man’s part?  What lesson are we to learn from this story’s inclusion into God’s Word?  Sure to have complete Faith that “God can do immeasurably more than all that we ask or think”.  Sure, that our lack of Faith can cause us to miss out on the full blessings from God.  Sure, that our prayers must be prayed in Faith believing that God can.  All these facts are true and can surely be learned from this passage.

But my thoughts were a bit different.  What if the man would have just said, yes I can see now, thank you?  He had been completely blind, so yes he did have sight now.  But he didn’t do that.  He wanted more.  It was as if he said, “Come on Jesus, I know you can do better than that.”  I started thinking about how many times I have accepted things in life and just took what came my way.  I have been grateful to God to have the opportunity to talk to Him and read His word and go to church.  To be witness to His workings in my life and the life of others.  To know that He sacrificed everything so that I can spend Eternity in Heaven.  And although those are wonderful things, what does God REALLY want to give me if only I would say, “Come on God, I know you can do better than that.”

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Leave a Reply

