the pen is mightier than the sword

Posted: February 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

Why is it easier to write things down than to speak them?  Is that true for everyone?  I know it is for me, but I may be making a false assumption.  I love the written word.  I can express feelings and frustrations with little effort on paper, but verbalizing them would be extremely difficult.  Why is that? 

I have been using facebook for quite sometime now and I enjoy the technology that enables me and my family to keep up with friends and family whether far or near.  But sometimes I have been taken back by the lack of restraint in some of the posts.  I read some things and it is obvious that there may be more behind the words than is expressed.  Almost like a hidden meaning.  Some may even be a little offensive. 

I guess there may be a “new found” courage that comes along with knowing you can simply type a few lines and send it out there into the web-world and not really have to give account for what has been expressed.  I think we would all benefit from remembering that words are powerful both written and spoken and we are all responsible for those words and their outcome.  May we all write/speak words that bring about positive results;  words that encourage and uplift.  Words can mend or break, build up or tear down, leave the reader with a smile or a frown.

Let’s choose mending, building and smiling!!

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Leave a Reply

