today is my “new birth” day

Posted: February 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

36 years ago, today, February 23, 1974, my new life began. 

I was sitting in a revival service in Mableton, Georgia.  When the sermon was over and the invitation began, I felt as though my heart would explode if my feet did not move.  I grabbed my cousin, who was sitting next to me (love you Shash) and pulled her to the altar with me.  There I gave my heart and life to Jesus. (tears gather in my eyes as I type that sentence).  “Giving your heart and life” to another person;  WOW! that is liberating! 

I remember the feelings that engulfed me afterward so vividly, even now.  After the service, everyone was just standing in the parking lot talking about where we might go get a bite to eat or something.  I remember thinking, “How can you be talking about such silly things?  Do you not realize what just happened to me?!?”

Even as a child at the age of 7, I knew that my life had been radically changed.  I have gone through some extremely rough valleys in my Christian walk and have failed more than succeeded, but MY God has been faithful and I owe everything I am and ever will be to HIS miraculous metamorphosis of this wicked prone to fail flesh.

He is the love of my life and I truly want nothing more from my time here than to worship Him, serve Him and make an impact on others for Him.

Thank you Father for rescuing this old sinner at such an early age and for continuing to rescue her each and every day!

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Comments
  1. Kerri says:

    Happy Rebirthday! It’s funny because your day is exactly nine months before my actual birthday 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

