it’s all about me

Posted: January 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

Hello Friends,

I promised myself that I would NOT mention that my blogging ritual has become a non-ritual……so I’m not.  I write when I can and that is all I have to say about that……… 😎

As I reflect back on my prior year of life, I can see a pattern………..frustration!  I HATE the feeling of frustration!  It is so……….well, frustrating!

I am determined to get to the source of this dreaded emotion and attempt to conquer it and exile it from my life.

I have realized that most of the frustration in my life comes from expectations that are not met.  Ironically these expectations are primarily for others and not myself.  I have all these goals and accomplishments that I want to see from those around me.  I want more spiritual leadership in my life, I expect to see thoughtfulness and sacrifice of selfishness from those around me, I have hopes for others to choose right over wrong and to abandon their ambitions to do what God has for them, I look to my friends to be there for me and support me when I need a shoulder. The list of expectations is endless.

The sad thing is, very few of these expectations are actually within my control or have anything to do with me in any way.  I want others to be what I expect them to be, but am I who I should expect to be?!?  I have read so many quotes about this.  One of my favorites is, “You cannot change other people, only your reaction to them.”  I posted one on my fb page earlier, “He who has so little knowledge of human nature as to seek happiness by changing anything but his own disposition will waste his life in fruitless efforts and multiply the grief which he purposed to remove.” 

I am currently reading the book by John Maxwell, “Winning With People”.  The first principle he discussed is the “Mirror Principle”.  In the chapter he quotes, “In most situations, I am the problem.  My mentalities, my pictures, my expectations, form the biggest obstacles to my success.” 

I want spiritual leadership – I need to be a spiritual leader,  I want thoughtfulness and self sacrifice from others – I need to be thoughtful, I expect others to make good choices – I need to make good choices, I expect my friends to be there when I need them – I need to be the support my friends need.  Basically, what I want from others, I need to be that and more myself.  I have a sneaking feeling that when I decide to become myself what I want others to be, I will be a lot more tolerant and a lot less frustrated when trying to get what I want.

So, summary for the New Year………Less about others and More about me! 😉

Thanks for stopping by 😎

Comments

Leave a Reply

