Archive for April 28, 2009

one down, two to go

Posted: April 28, 2009 in family stuff, homeschooling

Those of you who know me will know that this is not really how I feel when you realize what this post is about.

My oldest DD is very much a “non” drama person.  She doesn’t like to be the center of attention and she most definitely does not like a lot of hoopla.  So when we started talking about the end of her homeschooling journey and graduation, her first response was that she didn’t want to do anything big.  I quickly reminded her that it was not about her and what she wanted.  It was about me and celebrating the 18 years of hard work that I have put into her becoming the young woman that she has become and I deserve some type of celebration for that 😉 .

Out of guilt great love for her mother, she agreed to participate in the graduation ceremony that our state organization has each year.  The announcements arrived in the mail the other day and it just made it all too surreal for me.  With her cap & gown hanging in my closet and the announcements now mailed out to friends and family, I realized that this is actually happening.  It is a bittersweet time for me.  I am thrilled at the thought of her moving on to the next phase in life and discovering what God has planned for her, but also a little saddened that she is growing up and will not be in my home everyday and eating all her meals at my table.  (she does love my cooking so that last one will probably still be quite a regular occurrence).

It does give me a great sense of accomplishment to look back at how far we have come these past 18 years.  I must say, I think we have done a pretty good job.

scan-new1